top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Bean There, Done That: Chicago in 24 Hours

As most of you know from my endless posts and photos (and let me just add, I was just as photogenic as my food if I do say so myself), I was in Chicago for about 24 hours, in the middle of the week, doing some top secret things. Though secrets secrets are no fun, the day has finally come for me to share with everyone just exactly what I was doing in the windy city!

*drumroll please*

I am beyond honored and excited that I had the opportunity to work with the Kraft Heinz Company Foundation and Stop Hunger Now to participate in a meal packaging event at the Kraft Heinz headquarters. Being a student in Pittsburgh, aka Kraft Heinz co-headquarters, made this experience that much more special because I was able to partner and help a brand very near and dear to my heart. Not only that, but I was able to do so with seven other girl bosses that also have a love for food, fashion, and giving back. I mean, just look at us: it’s hard to believe we had only met not even twenty-four hours before this photo was taken.

Let me backtrack for just a second here, specifically to when I was six and I used to put ketchup on everything. That’s right, you name it, odds are I put ketchup on it: mac and cheese, hibachi, even pizza… I was a ketchup fiend. I was so obsessed with ketchup to the point where I was given the nickname “Ketchup Queen” and that is probably one of my biggest accomplishments to date. So, to be working with my favorite ketchup brand at age 21, it’s an understatement that I was fan-girling.

Okay, back to current day, still fan-girling and calling myself Ketchup Queen. The Kraft Heinz Company, other than bottling the best ketchup out there (#TeamHeinz), along with the Kraft Heinz Company Foundation have made it their mission to get involved with eliminating world hunger and malnutrition. While on my trip, I learned from amazing people just how much Heinz has done to fulfill their mission, with the creation of a micronutrient packet that can be poured over food and provides people with essential vitamins that they may not receive on a daily basis. What’s even more impressive is the fact that these packets are tasteless- I am the farthest thing from a science person, but I learned that iron isn’t the most pleasant taste and it’s a huge accomplishment that Kraft Heinz was able to develop this tasteless supplement.

So on Thursday, November 3rd, I joined the Kraft Heinz Company Foundation’s employees, other volunteers, the Stop Hunger Now volunteers, and my fellow new-blogger friends, and got to work packaging meals. An hour and a lot of sweat later (it was my workout for the day), a gong was rung and we were told that we packaged over 45,000 meals! In just one hour! The meals consist of a measurement of soy, rice, dried vegetables, and a package of the Kraft Heinz Micronutrient package, and each meal bag feeds six people. I don’t think you actually have to do that math to realize how impactful that one hour was. It was also super interesting to learn that these meals are packaged with little to no flavor because depending on the country where these meals are sent to, the people will take the packages and add their own cultural flares to them, whether that be through the spices that are native to the area or in the way that they prepare the food. Sidenote: don’t I look so trendy in a hairnet?

All kidding aside, partnering with the Kraft Heinz Company Foundation and Stop Hunger Now has opened my eyes to the opportunities after this trip where I can get involved and play my part in ending world hunger. Let me be sappy for just one second here (I mean, it is my blog, and I can be sappy if I want to) and say that creating my Instagram and blog was something I didn’t think would develop into what it has become, to the point where I could go to a new city, meet new people, and give back with an amazing company with an impactful mission. I am so thankful and #blessed to have been a part of this iconic event, and I hope this inspires you to get involved in any way that you can to help make the world a better place, whether that’s smiling at someone that looks like they’re having a bad day or taking part in a meal packaging event close to a campus or city near you! For more information on the Kraft Heinz Company Foundation and The Kraft Heinz Company Micronutrient Campaign, visit http://www.kraftheinzcompany.com/community-involvement.html.

Xoxo,

Hungrygrl

Disclosure: Kraft Heinz paid for my trip to Chicago for the meal packaging event.


bottom of page