top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

New Year, New Brunch Spots: Sofia in Englewood

Fun fact about hungrygrl: breakfast is her favorite meal of the day. Sure, she loves pasta and can devour an entire pizza pie by herself, but there's just something about eggs benedict and bagels that really makes her happy. Plus, it's more than acceptable to get your booze on, and putting chocolate and nutella on waffles is applauded and not looked down upon.

Now that I've had my fill of speaking in third person, I had the lovely experience of brunching at Sofia in Englewood, New Jersey for my New Years Day brunch with the fam. Sofia is a sleek establishment with wood tables and a wood bar featuring lots of natural lighting for the best food pictures and a back room with turquoise cushioned seating and hand-painted Italian tiled floors, which creates a garden atmosphere with the help of string lights and a roof that comes off in the warmer months.

Of course, my first move at brunch was to test out the bloody mary situation. Another fun fact about me: bloody mary's are my go-to brunch drink, which I get from my mama. Though I love spice, I asked for a milder spiced bloody, and I was not disappointed- it was the perfect way to cheers to the new year. The bellini and mimosa were also on point, and all brunch drinks are an amazing $5, so the more the merrier without damaging your wallet too much. Salute!

The menu at Sofia is prefixe, so you can pick a first course and a second course. The menu has a wide range, featuring classic starters like a yogurt parfait and a salmon crostini, while also featuring some Italian influences like a meatball and prosciutto-wrapped asparagus. The meatball and asparagus were a 10/10, and the bread was 100% used to soak up the excess ricotta plated with the meatball and chessey goodness that accompanied the asparagus perfectly.

My dad even got to practice his photo taking skills, and he wasn't half bad... I guess hungrygrl taught hungrygrl's dad well!

When I studied the menu before coming in, I was torn between the breakfast burger and the Sophia benedict. I identify on such personal levels with both dishes, that I didn't know where to turn. However, I ended up following my heart to the Sophia Benedict, which came equipped with roasted tomato, burrata, poached egg and prosciutto on rosemary focaccia. Talk about O M G YUM. My choice was on the money, because there wasn't a trace left of the dish to be had when I was done.

My lovely mother decided to order the french toast, which came equipped with fresh berries and cinnamon and amazing, fresh bread. Molto bene!

To end this amazing meal, the chef brought out the special of the day, which included a poached egg, foie gras, and truffle. It was almost too beautiful to eat, but we did it anyway! Hungrygrl's dad captured the dish in all of its beauty.

Overall, Sofia is a beautiful and bright spot offering fresh, indulgent brunch dishes and spectacular cocktails. Though Sofia draws in a dinner crowd for their pasta and steak dishes, this is a spot with just as amazing of a brunch menu.

Xoxo,

Hungrygrl


bottom of page